Senate Confirms 11 Justices, Completes Supreme Court Bench  - The Top Society

Senate Confirms 11 Justices, Completes Supreme Court Bench 


The Senate on Thursday, December 21, officially confirmed the appointment of 11 Justices to the Supreme Court, following a screening process conducted by the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights, and Legal Matters.

This decision was prompted by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, who, on Wednesday, urged the Senate to endorse the nominees put forward by the National Judicial Council.

Senator Mohammed Monguno, representing APC – Borno North and Chairman of the Committee, presented the report, which outlined the qualifications and suitability of each nominee.

Among the Supreme Court Justices-designate are Justice Haruna Tsammani (Northeast), renowned for chairing the Presidential Election Petition Court; Justice Moore Adumein (South-South); Justice Jummai Sankey (North-Central); Justice Chidiebere Uwa (South-East); and Justice Chioma Nwosu-Iheme (South-East).

Tinubu Requests Senate Confirmation for 11 Supreme Court Justices 

The list also includes Justice Obande Ogbuinya (South-East), Justice Stephen Adah (North-Central), Justice Habeeb Abiru (South-West), Justice Jamilu Tukur (Northwest), Justice Abubakar Umar (Northwest), and Justice Mohammed Idris (North-Central).

This confirmation expands the Supreme Court’s bench to 21 Justices, as it aligns with the constitutional provision of having a full complement of 21 Justices, as stipulated by the 1999 Constitution (As Amended).

Share this Article
Leave a comment