27 Rivers House Members Defect from PDP to APC  - The Top Society

27 Rivers House Members Defect from PDP to APC 


Amid the unfolding political turmoil in Rivers State, a significant development has emerged as 27 members of the State House of Assembly have switched allegiance from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the All Progressives Congress (APC). The decision was confirmed by Assembly member Enemi George, citing the leadership of Martin Amaewhule during their Monday morning sitting.

For weeks, Martin Amaewhule and Edison Ehie have been entangled in a Speakership battle. Amaewhule, allegedly loyal to ex-governor Nyesom Wike, clashed with Ehie, known to be in the camp of Governor Siminalayi Fubara.

The Assembly, led by Amaewhule, served an impeachment notice on the governor in October, removing Ehie as House leader. In a swift response, members loyal to Fubara impeached Amaewhule, making Ehie the new Speaker.

The 32-member Assembly’s turmoil originated from a rift between Fubara and his predecessor, Wike, who currently serves as the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). Despite public appearances suggesting resolution between the two politicians, Monday’s mass defection may inject fresh uncertainty into the state’s political crisis.

Rivers Assembly Crisis: Amaewhule-Led Faction Holds Session Under Tight Security 

With 27 lawmakers shifting allegiance from the PDP to the APC, the balance of power within the Assembly is substantially altered. This development follows recent announcements of defections to the PDP by notable figures from the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and the APC.

Over the weekend, key figures from other parties joined the PDP, aligning themselves with the Fubara faction.

Notable defectors include Patricia Ogbonnaya, the deputy governorship candidate of the SDP in the 2023 election, and Karibo Wilson, former Ahoada-West Chairman.

In attendance at the defection event were lawmakers from the Ehie-led group, including Goodboy Sokari representing Ahoada West and Oko Jumbo from Bonny Constituency, both standing with the governor.


Share this Article
Leave a comment